Since Empathy Test’s conception in January 2013, the independent London electronic pop group has produced two stunning, four-track EPs and a steady stream of memorable singles which have won them both critical acclaim and a legion of dedicated fans worldwide. Their unique brand of cinematic synth pop has been featured by the likes of Vice, Netflix, HBO, MTV, XFM, KCRW, BBC Introducing, Clash, Idolator, Earmilk, PopMatters and many more.


In 2017, the band began a crowd funding campaign to fund the self-release of two debut albums, ‘Losing Touch’ and ‘Safe From Harm’. The PledgeMusic campaign was 661% funded and the band raised over £26K to release the two albums via digital, CD and vinyl formats. To date, Empathy test has sold over 1,000 copies of each album on CD and 600 on vinyl.


Empathy Test released the first taste of their forthcoming third album in October 2018, in the form of a new double a-side single Holy Rivers / Incubation Song. Clash Music wrote that the new material, featuring "shimmering synths, glacial electronics, and heartrending vocals", illuminated the band's "potent creativity".


A second single, Empty Handed, was released in June 2019, to coincide with a double headline UK tour with Canadian Post Punk band, Actors. Fresh on the Net called it a "dark, anthemic electro-pop tune layered with a sense of desperation". The band also released a North America-only 'Best of' compilation, 'Just Got Home' to coincide with their first North American tour in September 2019.


Empathy Test are Isaac Howlett (vocals/songwriting), Christina Lopez (live drums), Oliver Marson (live synthesisers) and non-performing fourth member Adam Relf (composition / production).


Empathy Test Press Shot 2019
Empathy Test Promo Shot 2019
Empathy Test Promo Shot 2019
Empathy Test at Der Cult, Germany in 2019 by Bernd Schwinn
Empathy Test at Der Cult, Germany in 2019 by Bernd Schwinn
Empathy Test at Der Cult, Germany in 2019 by Bernd Schwinn



  • 'Just Got Home: Best of 2014-19' - CD Compilation - 2019

  • Empty Handed - Single/EP - 2019

  • Holy Rivers / Incubation Song - Single/EP - 2018

  • Safe From Harm - Album -  November, 2017

  • Losing Touch (Remastered) - Album - 2017

  • Everything Will Work Out - Single/EP - 2017

  • Bare My Soul - Single /EP- 2017

  • By My Side - Single/EP - 2017 

  • Demons / Seeing Stars - Single/EP - 2016

  • Throwing Stones Remixed - EP - 2015

  • Throwing Stones - EP - 2014

  • Losing Touch EP - 2014




Empathy Test Empty Handed Artwork by Adam Relf2019
Empathy Test Safe From Harm Artwork
Empathy Test Holy Rivers Artwork
Empathy Test Losing Touch Remastered Artwork


"Mixing their trademark analogue synths with lashings of 80s influence, 'Vampire Town' sees Empathy Test employ their pop songwriting sensibilities on a huge, sweeping chorus. The haunting, repeated promise that “we will always be friends” twines through the song like an echo of a classic film soundtrack. It’s a song that wouldn’t sound out of places snaking into the soundtrack of Netflix series Stranger Things’ second season."
- The Line of Best Fit

"Gorgeous, sumptuous future pop which arrives dripping in synthesised sounds, there are nods towards Depeche Mode here alongside 21st century producers such as Purity Ring." - Clash

"Singer Isaac Howlett and producer Adam Relf have turned their childhood friendship into a delivery of multiple EPs that feature emotional electronic music with a depth in its measure." - Earmilk

"London duo Empathy Test deliver tear-streaked New Wave featuring twinkling synth pads and drum machine hits so wet (from the crying, presumably) that they’d throw Phil Collins into a jealous rage." Idolator

"[Empathy Test's Throwing Stones is] my Record of the Week. Loving this more and more with every listen."
- Abbie McCarthy, BBC Introducing

"Like M83, Purity Ring and CHVRCHES, artists Isaac Howlett and Adam Relf draw from pop and cinematic scores in equal measure and come up with a big dramatic sound that swoons ecstatically between the nostalgic and immediate." - KCRW

“A set of songs lovers of 80s synth pop will be drooling over the minute the first verse has been heard. More Visage than Mode, more pop than dance and not a smudge of eyeliner in sight." - Louder Than War




Bookings in UK and North America:

Bookings in Europe:

All other enquiries: